Information for Travelers and Canadians Abroad

The Government of Canada has enacted the Quarantine Act. Effective immediately, all travellers are now legally required to enter self-isolation for 14 days upon arriving in Canada.


As of March 16, 2020, the Federal government announced several new restrictions on travel:

Beginning March 18th at 12:00pm, the Canadian government will only allow entry to Canada to those who are a Canadian citizen, permanent resident, immediate family of a citizen, diplomat, air crew personnel, or U.S citizen.

Anyone who exhibits symptoms of COVID-19 will not be permitted to board a plane to Canada, including Canadians. The Government will be setting up a support program for Canadians who must remain abroad.

International flights from most of the world will be restricted to the four major Canadian airports: Montreal Trudeau, Vancouver International, Calgary International, and Toronto Pearson.

For further questions regarding international travel, contact the Government of Canada COVID-19 information line at 1-833-784-4397 or visit their website.

I am still abroad, what should I do?

Travelers should register online with Global Affairs Canada here.

I am a non-landed permanent resident, am I permitted to enter Canada?

The Government of Canada is advising all approved permanent resident who haven’t landed should not travel yet. Travel restrictions are still in effect for these groups.

For more information, click here.